Sanaa Basin Solar Water Supply
Solar pumping for a Sanaa well field, Solar pumping for an additional Sanaa well field; capacity not disclosed in Yemen.
Under construction
The record
- Country
- Yemen
- Location
- Sanaa
- Coordinates
- 15.350, 44.210
- Technology
- Solar pumping for a Sanaa well field
- Capacity
- Solar pumping for an additional Sanaa well field; capacity not disclosed
- Capital cost
- No total cost disclosed; UNOPS awarded lot 3 (solar panels for the additional well field) under RFQ/2024/54673 on 19 March 2025 for US$49,608
- Stage
- Under construction
- Owner or client
- Ministry of Water & Environment; implemented by UNOPS
- Contractor
- —
- Operator
- —
- Finance
- World Bank IDA, implemented by UNOPS
- Award or start year
- 2028
- Commissioned
- —
Record last checked 2026-10-12.
History
No dated milestones recorded yet. They are added as each is confirmed against a public announcement.
Sources
7 references
Every field in the record above is taken from the references below. A field that none of them confirms prints as a dash.
- World Bank, Integrated Urban Services Emergency Project II (P175791). projects.worldbank.org.
- Active, approved 7 June 2021, closing 30 June 2028, implemented by UNOPS, with an urban water and sanitation subcomponent.
- UNGM, Supply and installation of solar panels with accessories for the operation of the field of additional well Sanaa, Yemen, UNOPS notice RFQ/2024/53475 (published 22 August 2024, deadline 9 September 2024). ungm.org.
- Four lots, no contract value disclosed.
- The register's US$140m did not rest on any Sanaa-specific source and has been removed; the closed Sanaa Basin Water Management Project was an agricultural water conservation operation and does not support this record.
- UNGM, contract award RFQ/2024/54673, Supply, delivery, installing, testing, commissioning, solar PV system for water wells in Sanaa, Yemen (IUS-AF-UWS-SAN-020), opened 12 Oct 2026. ungm.org.
- MENA Water Review major projects register and PPP pipeline — compiled from procurer publications, development-bank project pages and trade reporting; each record names its source.
UNOPS, award date 19 March 2025, contract value US$49,608, lot 3, supply and installation of solar panels with accessories for the operation of the field of additional well, Sanaa.