CountriesKnowledge Hubs
Data & Tools
Live TendersMajor ProjectsMarket BriefsRegion AtlasTariffs & Cost BenchmarksOrganization DirectoryFunding LandscapeIntelligenceStoriesCalendarAbout

Saïss Water Conservation Programme

Irrigation water transfer and distribution, Surface-water transfer from the M'Dez dam to the Saïss plain (Saïss I), a main distribution pipeline and network for 10,000 ha (Saïss II, operating since 2 July 2025) and a distribution network for the final 20,000 ha of the 30,000 ha programme (Saïss III); the volume transferred is about the annual deficit of the Saïss aquifer; the GCF grant also covered preparing a public-private partnership for new irrigation networks (outcome not stated in the sources read) in Morocco.

Under construction

The record

Country
Morocco
Location
Saïss plain, Fès-Meknès
Coordinates
—
Technology
Irrigation water transfer and distribution
Capacity
Surface-water transfer from the M'Dez dam to the Saïss plain (Saïss I), a main distribution pipeline and network for 10,000 ha (Saïss II, operating since 2 July 2025) and a distribution network for the final 20,000 ha of the 30,000 ha programme (Saïss III); the volume transferred is about the annual deficit of the Saïss aquifer; the GCF grant also covered preparing a public-private partnership for new irrigation networks (outcome not stated in the sources read)
Capital cost
No programme total published, so left blank: the EBRD loans are euro financing, not project cost; the GCF lists US$231 m as the total value of the first phase (Saïss I)
Stage
Under construction
Owner or client
Kingdom of Morocco (borrower, Ministry of Economy and Finance); Ministry of Agriculture, DIAEA, through the Saïss Operational Project Directorate as implementation unit
Contractor
—
Operator
—
Finance
EBRD sovereign loans of EUR 120 million (2017, with a Green Climate Fund grant of US$35.8 million), EUR 150 million (2020, with an EU Neighbourhood Investment Platform grant) and up to EUR 150 million (approved 19 November 2025, with EBRD Shareholder Special Fund and UK FCDO HIPCA grants; grant amounts redacted in the Board report)
Award or start year
2017
Commissioned
—

Record last checked 2026-10-19.

History

Sources

5 references

Every field in the record above is taken from the references below. A field that none of them confirms prints as a dash.

  1. EBRD, Saiss III Water Conservation Project, Board report approved 19 November 2025. ebrd.com.
  2. Sovereign loan of up to EUR 150 million to finance the distribution pipeline and network for the final 20,000 ha of the 30,000 ha programme; Saïss I (EUR 120 million, 2017) financed the main transfer pipeline, Saïss II (EUR 150 million, 2020) the main distribution pipeline and a network for 10,000 ha; both completed and the first 10,000 ha operational from 2 July 2025; the report gives the length of the Saïss I pipeline as both 45 km and 150 km.
  3. Green Climate Fund, Saïss Water Conservation Project (FP043). greenclimate.fund.
  4. Approved at the Board's 16th meeting on 6 April 2017, GCF grant of US$35,799,870, total project value US$231 million, EBRD as accredited entity; components are the bulk transfer from the M'Dez dam, preparing a PPP for new irrigation networks, drip irrigation and water demand management; funded activity agreement effective 31 January 2018, completion estimated 31 January 2027. EBRD Electronic Client Procurement Portal, Morocco: PP2 Works, Saiss III water conservation project (notice 46046035).
  5. MENA Water Review major projects register and PPP pipeline — compiled from procurer publications, development-bank project pages and trade reporting; each record names its source.

Tender for the distribution network (Part 4, 8 lots), published 19 August 2026, deadline 19 October 2026.